RATE Awards 2023

Congratulations to all our nominees! Find out more about the shortlist and winners.

No ratings yet. Log in to rate.
Text: RATE Teaching Awards 2023. Congratulations to all our nominees! Text: RATE Teaching Awards 2023. Congratulations to all our nominees!

The Students’ Union were proud to host the 2023 Recognising and Advancing Teaching Excellence (RATE) Awards celebrating over 200 individual nominees and University Support Services. Across 18 categories, over 450 nominations were received this year, all of which were submitted by students at the University of Stirling. The RATE Awards are entirely student-led from nominations to the student shortlisting panel which reviewed all the nominations to decide the shortlist and winner.


On the 22nd of May 2023, in the Atrium, we welcomed over 100 attendees to celebrate and recognise staff, Faculty Officers and University Services for their hard work. The winners of the RATE Awards can be found below with the full shortlist, including honourable mentions, available on the Students’ Union website. You can find all the photos from the Awards Ceremony here. Congratulations, and thank you, to all of our nominees, shortlist and winners!


Student Service of the Year

Winner: Student Services Hub


Outstanding Commitment to Innovation in Blended Learning

Winner: Flora Rendell-Bhatti


Faculty Officer of the Year

Winner: Alex Graham


Faculty of the Year

Winner: Health Sciences and Sports


Tutor of the Year

Winner: Ela Hamer


Research Postgraduate Supervisor of the Year Award

Winner: Tom Bradwell


Excellence in Teaching in the Stirling Management School

Winner: Isaac Tabner


Excellence in Teaching in the Faculty of Arts & Humanities

Winner: Damian Etone


Excellence in Teaching in the Faculty of Social Sciences

Winner: Vikki McCall


Excellence in Teaching in the Faculty of Health Sciences & Sport

Winner: Sara Rodriguez- Martin


Excellence in Teaching in the Faculty of Natural Sciences

Winner: Brad Duthie


Excellence in Teaching in INTO

Winner: John Heuston


Professional Services and Support Staff Of the Year

Winner: Pauline Darnbrough


Outstanding Commitment to Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Winner: Saihong Li


Outstanding Commitment to Sustainability

Winner: Charlotte Forbes


Outstanding Commitment to Accessibility and Inclusion in Blended Learning

Winner: Nikolaos Papadogiannis


In addition to the awards above which were all nominated by students, we have two awards which are awarded directly by the Students' Union:


Kate Howie Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner: Leigh Sparks


Union President’s for Outstanding Contribution to Education

Winner: David Telford


Prior to the RATE Award taking place, the Learning and Teaching Celebration focused on discussing excellent learning and teaching, during an event co-hosted by Learning and Teaching Enhancement ahead of the Students' Union RATE Awards.


The Celebration event focused on hearing about good learning and teaching practice from students and colleagues, and we enjoyed discussing many different themes over lunch and refreshments breaks. You can find the recordings from the event on the Learning and Teaching Sharepoint, alongside hearing from some of our shortlisted nominees.


As part of the 2023 Learning and Teaching Festival programme, and continuing discussions from the celebration, there will be the Learning and Teaching Conference on the 22nd-23rd June. You can find out more, and register your interest, on the Learning and Teaching Sharepoint.