RATE Awards 2021 Logo

The Recognising and Advancing Teaching Excellence (RATE) Award scheme was first introduced by Stirling Students' Union in 2010. RATE was born from the Union's desire to recognise the excellent quality of teaching at the University of Stirling and to provide students with the opportunity to identify areas of good practice within their learning experience. This has now expanded to include recognition and celebration of the support not only academic staff provide, but also supporting staff members and Faculty Officers.

The awards have continued to grow in success and popularity since their introduction. On average, we recieve over 1,300 nominations, resulting in the nomination of 420 academic and professional staff to be nominated for an award. Those nominations show that our students value the support that they are given by academic staff, support staff, and Faculty Officers, as well as the time that they dedicate to students. .

With our help and support, University of Stirling staff members have been able to go forward for National Learning and Teaching awards: in 2014, May McCreddie (School of Health Sciences) was shortlisted for the Most Innovative Teacher of the Year Award at the Times Higher Education Awards, using the qualitive data we had received from the RATE Awards as their evidence, and 2016 Postgraduate Supervisor of the Year winner, David Lavaelle (School of Sport) went forward for the THES Outstanding Research Supervisor Award. 

The RATE awards depend on student nominations. Your nominations are used to inform the University about what you, as a student body, consider to be the best methods of teaching, student engagement, and student support. They are also used to identify any necessary improvements in learning and teaching, and student support at the University. RATE is intended to empower students to be co-creators in their learning & teaching experience through feeding back about their learning experience at Stirling.


2021 RATE Awards Ceremony

Nominations for the 2021 RATE Awards are closed. The RATE Awards Ceremony was held virtually via Microsoft Team on April 21st. It was open for all staff and students to attend. This is where Lexi our VP Education and fellow Faculty Officers announced the winners and runners-up for the 2021 RATE Awards. 


Awards Categories 2020-2021:

Innovation in Online Connection
Eleanor Tanner (Winner)
Peter Matthews (Runner up)

Student Service of the Year
Library and Information Services (Winner)
Student Learning Services (Runner Up)

Faculty Officer of the Year
Ethan Williamson (Winner)
Ryan McMillan (Runner Up)

Faculty of the Year
Faculty of Arts and Humanities (Winner)
Faculty of Health Science and Sport (Runner Up)

Best Tutor Award
Guido Noto La Diega (Winner)
Kylie Bradfield (Runner Up)

Fantastic Feedback Award
Paul Cowell (Winner)
Wisam Abboud (Runner Up)

Research Postgradaute Supervisor of the Year
Iain Gallagher (Winner)
David Little (Runner up)

Innovation in Postgraduate Teaching Award
Simon McCabe (Winner)
Paul Cowell (Runner up)

Outstanding Admin Award
Lesley McIntosh (Winner)
Roswitha Lucht (Runner up) and Lesley Robertson (Runner Up)

Excellence in teaching in the Faculty of Arts & Humanities
Damian Etone (Winner)
Guido Noto La Diega (Runner Up)

Excellence in teaching in the Faculty of Social Sciences
Kylie Bradfield (Winner)
Edward Moran (Runner Up)

Excellence in teaching in the Faculty of Health Science and Sport
Carina Hibberd (Winner)
Colin Moran (Runner Up) and Gwenne McIntosh (Runner Up)

Excellence in teaching in the Faculty of Natural Science
Francesca Singleton (Winner)
Philip Wookey (Runner Up)

Excellence in teaching in the Stirling Management School
Paul Cowell (Winner)
Till Stowasser (Runner Up)

Excellence in teaching in INTO
Amy Carr (Winner)

Outstanding Support Award
Amaya Albalat (Winner)
Pauline Darnbrough (Runner Up)

Dedication to Equality, Diversity and Inclusion
Toni Hasstrup (Winner)
Michelle Donnelly (Runner up)

Dedication to Sustainability
Colin Dey (Winner)
Clare Wilson (Runner Up)

Dedication to Online Accessibility and Inclusion
Francesca Singleton (Winner)
Alasdair Rutherford (Runner Up)

The Kate Howie Lifetime Achievement Award
Grace McArthur

RATE report

You can also view our final report from the RATE Awards 2021 by clicking the image below or here: RATE Report 2021. A plain text copy of the RATE Report 2021 is available here: Plain Text RATE Report 2021.  

rate report 2021 image


This project was partially funded thanks to the philanthropic support of staff, alumni and friends via the Stirling Fund

The Stirling Fund logo