Every year, you (the students!) elect four Sabbatical Officers who work full time (paid) in the Union to represent you to the University and beyond. You also elect a group of part time Officers called 'Executive' who work on a voluntary basis on campaigns and projects. 

If you've ever considered running for a position, it's a great way to get experience, boost your CV, work on things you're really passionate about and make change here at the University & Students' Union. 

This webpage has all of the details about running in the 2019 Elections (ie. how to nominate yourself for a position, important dates etc.). However, if you have any questions, e-mail Clair Murray, the Union's Democracy & Research Coordinator or pop by the Union Offices.


what officer positions can I run for?

Full Time Paid Officer Positions

Part Time Voluntary Officer Positions

Click on each of the positions you're interested in to view the role remit. If you've got further questions about an individual role, email Clair Murray at clair.murray@stir.ac.uk and we can even set you up with some shadowing of current officers!

what's in it for me?

Sabbatical Officers receive a full time employment contract, salary, holiday entitlement and automatically become Trustees of the Union. As well as gaining invaluable experience in chairing meetings, managing budgets, communicating, leading people, projects & campaigns.

Executive positions are voluntary, part time, but are incredibly useful for building your CV, experience and are a great way to build up to running for Sabbatical Officer.


'how to run' training

The training is now over, but if you would like to have a look through the powerpoint, you can access it here.




Ensure that you have completed everything on this checklist, as you wont be able to stand in the Election unless everything is completed before Friday, February 22nd @ 12PM.

1.   Manifesto (maximum 500 words)

2.   Slogan (maximum 25 words)

3.   Picture of yourself

4.   Seconders Form (50 for Sabbatical Officers; 15 for Executive Officers). 

5.   Publicity artwork design

6.   Signed Officer Code of Conduct



All candidates get a printing allowance from the Union to support their publicity. The printing allowance is used to print posters and flyers. However, the Union retains the right to halve your printing allowance if you're running for an uncontest position.

Candidates must not pay for extra printing or printed publicity. Candidates for Sabbatical Officer positions will be have access to limited funding for non-printed publicity, but this will be explained in detail at the first Candidates Briefing. 

Each candidate’s printed publicity must have the following:

  •        Your name & the position you are running for
  •        The Student Union logo (find it here, do not use the web banner)
  •        The date and time of the election
  •        Details on how to vote (via the Union website)

Your printed publicity is printed single-sided in black print onto coloured paper. There is a choice of 9 colours of paper to choose from and you will need to stipulate what colour you want at the time of submitting your nomination. If there are multiple candidates for the same position who request the same colour, it will be decided on a first-come, first-served basis.

Colours: Yellow, Orange, Red, Pink, Lilac, Deep Blue, Light Blue, Dark Green or Light Green. 

Only 1 item of artwork per size will be accepted.  Each candidate is responsible for ensuring their publicity artwork is designed.  Each candidate is also responsible for delivering the artwork design file to Clair correctly named- e.g. John Smith A3 Poster.pdf 



There is no campaigning until you are confirmed as a candidate, which will be after nominations close.

Top Tips: 

  • Have a team to support you.
  • Work out who your voters are.
  • Design your posters and flyers according to which you think will have the most impact with your voters.
  • Have a catchy slogan.
  • Be visible – talk to people and ask lecturers if you can do lecture shout-outs.
  • Have a social media presence (Facebook page, Twitter hashtag or Snapchat name)

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Clair Murray, the Union's Democracy & Research Coordinator at clair.murray@stir.ac.uk


important dates

  • Announcement of Elections: Monday, January 28th
  • Nominations Open: Monday, February 11th @ 9AM
  • Nominations Close: Friday, February 22nd  @ 12PM
  • 'How To Run' training #1: Tuesday, February 12th @ 5PM (Ian King Meeting Room)
  • 'How To Run' training #2: Thursday, February 14th @ 12PM (Ian King Meeting Room)
  • Candidates Briefing #1: Wednesday, February 27th @ 5PM (Ian King Meeting Room)
  • Union Hustings: Tuesday, March 5th @ 12PM (Atrium)
  • Candidates Briefing #2 : Wednesday, March 6th @ 5PM (Ian King Meeting Room)
  • Alternative Hustings: Thursday, March 7th @ 6PM (Venue)
  • Publicity Party: Sunday, March 10th @ 6pm (Studio/Atrium) - FREE PIZZA! 
  • Voting Opens: Monday, March 11th @ 9 AM
  • Voting Closes: Tuesday, March 12th @ 6:15pm 
  • Results Party: Tuesday, March 12th @ 7pm (Venue) - anyone welcome!


Union Elections 2019

Every year you are given the opportunity to elect fellow students to lead your Students’ Union.

15 posts are up for election.

Nominations close at 12:00 on Friday 22 February 2019 (in 20 hours)

The polls open at 09:00 on Monday 11 March 2019 (in 17 days)

Post List
Read more about the positions up for election and what each role entails.