sports union awards ball

The Sports Union Ball is without doubt one the most awaited Sports Union events of the year. It takes place in the spring semester and it marks the annual celebration of all the student achievements in Sport at the University of Stirling.

This year's Sports Ball will take place on Friday 7th April at Crowne Plaza, Glasgow. 


Tickets go on sale on 6th March (4th Year & Committee) & 7th March (General Sale)


2017 awards nominations

Nominations open 15th February 2017. Download the forms below, complete and email to before 10th March. 

Colours Award

Blues & Half Blues Award

Airthrey Trophy – Sports Person of the Year (Non-Scholar)
Catriona Lambert Medal – Sports Person of the Year (Scholar)
Dumyat Plate – Best Non-BUCS Achievement
Michael Stewart Memorial Trophy – Best Volunteer Coach
Peter Bilsborough Tribute Trophy – Professional Coach of the Year
Gannochy Jubilee Trophy – Best ‘One-Off’ Achievement
Red Runner Award – For the biggest ‘cock up’ of the year
Sports Personality of the Year 2017
H. H. Donnelly Trophy – Club of the Year
President's Award – Individual/Team who has been a real asset to the Sports Union (nominated by the Sports Union President)

Helpful Nominations Info

- Every nomination must come from the club as a whole, not individuals
- You can nominate more than one individual for an award
- You can nominate an individual for more than one award
- You can (and probably will!) nominate your own club
- Colours nominees must be in their final year of study and must have been on your club committee for at least 2 years 
- The Colours award is for an individual's outstanding contribution to their club - people that go over and above their roles and without whom the club would not be able to function. It is rare (although does occasionally happen) for more than one person from a club to get this award. 

Contact Us

University of Stirling Students' Union
The Robbins Centre
The University of Stirling

phone: 01786 467166

a registered Scottish Charity: SC023788

Additional Information

Our Awards

Making Students Lives Better

© University of Stirling Students' Union 2013