union staff

As well as elected student representatives, the Students' Union also employs a number of key staff who provide continuity and experience in operational management and administration of the Union.

Chief Executive

Audrey Burns audrey-clare.burns@stir.ac.uk

As the Chief Executive I report to the Trustee Board and am responsible for the overall strategic and operational management of the organisation. Key areas of work are supporting and facilitating the roles of elected officers and staff to deliver their representational, political, educational and activity based agendas. Internally I ensure development and delivery of commercial activities, externally securing funding opportunities is also a priority.

Communications Manager

Nick Manton n.d.manton@stir.ac.uk

 

Commercial Manager

Frances Slorance frances.slorance@stir.ac.uk

The Commercial Manager manages the Robbins team and ensures the delivery of customer focused bar and catering facilities on the Union's premises.

Finance Manager

Sasha Young sasha.young@stir.ac.uk

 

Communications, Marketing & Events Coordinator

Lauren Kirk lauren.kirk1@stir.ac.uk

I'm responsible for administering and assisting in the delivery of the Union's communications strategies together with the Communications Manager. I run the Union website, digital and social media communications as well as physically implementing marketing campaigns through experiential and visual means. I lead on the planning and promotion of annual and regular Union Events; including commercial ents programmes, Freshers Week & Elections. 

Activities & Volunteer Co-Ordinator

Alban Dickson alban.dickson@stir.ac.uk

My role is to help students make the most from their time at University. I support all the clubs & societies within the Union and help promote student participation in co-curricular activities. A key part of my job is volunteering; to help students access new experiences, develop their skills and realise their potential.

Democracy & Research Co-Ordinator

Amy Eberlin amy.eberlin@stir.ac.uk

My remit is to promote and enhance the democratic, political and campaigning activities of the Union. I work closely with the Coordinator team, support and develop all student representatives including full-time and part-time officers, faculty officers and course reps. I conduct research and enquiry into Higher Education learning, teaching and improve meaningful student engagement. I am also the go-to person on the Union’s constitution and schedules and work closely with the sabbaticals at developing new initiatives and policies to better engage the student community. 

Sport Development Co-Ordinator

Chris Purdie christopher.purdie@stir.ac.uk 

I'm here to ensure that all students at the University not only have the opportunity to engage in sport and physical activity, but that it is also a positive experience. In doing so I work in conjunction with the Sports President and Sports Administrator to plan, coordinate and deliver the comprehensive sport programme. I have particular focus on participation, disability sport as well as health and wellbeing. In addition, I also work with external stakeholders such as Active Stirling to increase opportunities for students to engage in community sport within the Stirling area.

Academic Representation & Development Co-Ordinator

Lynn Maher lynn.maher@stir.ac.uk

My role is to offer confidential and impartial information, support and representation to students on academic issues such as mitigating circumstances that are impacting on your studies, appeals, complaints, academic misconduct hearings and fitness to practice hearings. I’m here to listen – not to judge – and to help students state their case, to signpost to other specialist or support services as appropriate and to help make what can be difficult circumstances less painful and confusing and so you don’t have to face them alone. 

Environmental Development Co-Ordinator 

Matt Woodthorpe matt.woodthorpe@stir.ac.uk

My main role is develop and manage the Union’s environmental hub: the Green & Blue Space. From here we deliver the Union’s environmental projects around waste and energy use reduction and facilitate sustainable and environmental student activity. We work with a wonderful team of volunteers, the Union, University and a variety of external partners on building a sustainable community.

Finance Team

Ann Black ann.black@stir.ac.uk
Jane Allan jane.allan@stir.ac.uk

The Finance Office assists all areas of the Union in their operations. The team help Clubs with their budgets and monitor the income and expenditure of the Union.

Union Secretary

Wendy Forbes wendy.forbes@stir.ac.uk

The Union Secretary is often the first point of call in the student union, being situated on the Union Office front desk. As well as providing advice and help to students they also help administer the day-to-day operation of the Union.

Sports Union Administrator

Jill Lowe jill.lowe@stir.ac.uk

The Sports Union Administrator has responsibility for assisting the Sports Union President in the day-to-day operation of the Sports Union and is located in the Union Office in the Students' Union.

Catering Manager

Gwen Johnston gwen.johnston@stir.ac.uk

Bars Duty Manager

Agnes White agnes.white@stir.ac.uk

I am responsible for the day to day running of the bar, which includes the supervision of all bar staff and ensuring smooth operation is ongoing. I'm also responsibile for the upkeep of the in-house health and safety & first aid.  

Commercial Administrator

Theresa Taylor theresa.taylor@stir.ac.uk

I support both the Bar & Catering managers by recording all goods received as well as processing orders for the bar, plus any general day to day admin duties as required.

Union Shop Manager

Karen McGregor shop.union@stir.ac.uk

I manage the Student Union Shop, planning events, offers and promotions. I source all new stock, finding up-to-date styles in fashionable designs and colours. 

Contact Us

University of Stirling Students' Union
The Robbins Centre
The University of Stirling
FK9 4LA

email: theunion@stir.ac.uk
phone: 01786 467166

a registered Scottish Charity: SC023788

Additional Information

Our Awards

Making Students Lives Better

© University of Stirling Students' Union 2013