union staff

As well as elected student representatives, the Students' Union also employs a number of key staff who provide continuity and experience in operational management and administration of the Union. Meet the team!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Chief Executive

Audrey Burns audrey-clare.burns@stir.ac.uk

As the Chief Executive I report to the Trustee Board and am responsible for the overall strategic and operational management of the organisation. Key areas of work are supporting and facilitating the roles of elected officers and staff to deliver their representational, political, educational and activity based agendas. Internally I ensure development and delivery of commercial activities, externally securing funding opportunities is also a priority.

 

Communications Manager

Nick Manton n.d.manton@stir.ac.uk

My role seeks to increase student engagement in our online and social media platforms by helping to ensure accessible, vibrant and student centred information, promotions, campaigns and events. I develop, direct and implement the Union’s communications strategies and events programme to ensure effective communication of the Union’s varied messages, both internally and externally, to deliver on the Union’s aim to Make Students’ Lives Better.

 

Finance Manager

Sasha Young sasha.young2@stir.ac.uk

 

 

Commercial Manager

Frances Slorance frances.slorance@stir.ac.uk

The Commercial Manager manages the Robbins team and ensures the delivery of customer focused bar and catering facilities on the Union's premises.

 

 

Democracy & Representation Co-Ordinator

Rosamund Vickers rosamund.vickers@stir.ac.uk

My role is to promote and enhance student engagement in the democratic, political and campaigning activities of the Union. I work closely with the Union President, VP Education and the Co-ordinator team to support and develop all student representatives, from full-time officers to module reps. I am responsible for conducting research and enquiry into current issues within Higher Education, learning and teaching, and the Union’s activities. I work closely with the Advocacy & Inclusion Coordinator and sabbatical officers, to develop new initiatives and policies, which engage and represent the interests of the student community. I am also the go-to person on the Union’s Elections, constitution and schedules.

 

Communications, Marketing & Events Coordinator

Lauren Kirk lauren.kirk1@stir.ac.uk

I'm responsible for administering and assisting in the delivery of the Union's communications strategies together with the Communications Manager. I run the Union website, digital and social media communications as well as physically implementing marketing campaigns through experiential and visual means. I lead on the planning and promotion of annual and regular Union Events; including commercial ents programmes, Freshers Week & Elections. 

 

Activities & Volunteer Co-Ordinator

Elaine Shepherd elaine.shepherd@stir.ac.uk

My role is to help students make the most from their time at University. I support all the clubs & societies within the Union and help promote student participation in co-curricular activities. A key part of my job is volunteering; to help students access new experiences, develop their skills and realise their potential.

 

Sport Development Co-Ordinator

Alban Dickson alban.dickson@stir.ac.uk

I'm here to ensure that all students at the University not only have the opportunity to engage in sport and physical activity, but that it is also a positive experience. In doing so I work in conjunction with the Sports President and Sports Administrator to plan, coordinate and deliver the comprehensive sport programme. I have particular focus on participation, disability sport as well as health and wellbeing. In addition, I also work with external stakeholders such as Active Stirling to increase opportunities for students to engage in community sport within the Stirling area.

 

Advocacy & Inclusion Development Co-Ordinator

Lynn Maher lynn.maher@stir.ac.uk

My role is to offer confidential and impartial information, support and representation to students on academic issues such as mitigating circumstances that are impacting on your studies, appeals, complaints, academic misconduct hearings and fitness to practice hearings. I’m here to listen – not to judge – and to help students state their case, to signpost to other specialist or support services as appropriate and to help make what can be difficult circumstances less painful and confusing and so you don’t have to face them alone. 

 

Environmental Development Co-Ordinator 

This role is currently vacant until June. New contact details available soon, until then please email theunion@stir.ac.uk

 

 

 

Finance Administrator

Eilish O'Haire eilish.ohare@stir.ac.uk
The Finance Office assists all areas of the Union in their operations. The team help Clubs with their budgets and monitor the income and expenditure of the Union.

 

Finance Administrator

Jane Allan jane.allan@stir.ac.uk
The Finance Office assists all areas of the Union in their operations. The team help Clubs with their budgets and monitor the income and expenditure of the Union.

 

Union Secretary/HR Administrator

Wendy Forbes wendy.forbes@stir.ac.uk

My role is to assist and support the Chief Executive with the secretarial and administrative services for the Students’ Union, including the processing of payroll. I act as Minute Secretary for Trustee Board, HR Sub Group, FRC and E,D & I Steering Group & Champions Group. I am also the first point of contact for students, working closely with clubs & societies/sports clubs regarding club accounts, room bookings and general queries.

 

Sports Union Administrator

Aileen Ferguson aileen.ferguson@stir.ac.uk

My role is to assist and support the Sports Union President and the Sports Development Coordinator.  I organise sport fixtures, transport and accomodation for all clubs as well as being the first point of contact for general enquires in the Union office.

 

Catering Manager

Gwen Johnston gwen.johnston@stir.ac.uk

 

Union Shop Manager

Karen McGregor karen.mcgregor@stir.ac.uk

I manage the Student Union Shop, planning events, offers and promotions. I source all new stock, finding up-to-date styles in fashionable designs and colours.